Video  |  Chinese  |  English | RSS
i Heart

PCI Therapy for CHD

Things To Know About Choosing The Right Heart Stent

 

Foreword

Coronary atherosclerotic heart disease (CAHD) is triggered by myocardial ischemia, hypoxia or necrosis, which are caused by coronary atherosclerosis. CAHD is the most common type of organ lesion caused by atherosclerosis.

Coronary arteries, including the left and right branch, deliver blood to our heart. Coronary atherosclerosis may affect the coronary arteries separately or at the same time, the degree of lumen stenosis and locations of lesions determines the symptoms and prognosis of ischemia. Myocardial blood supply was not affected when the stenosis was less than 50%. When the lumen stenosis exceed 50%~70%, in the case of exercise, tachycardia or excitement, the oxygen consumption of the heart will increase, which may cause temporary myocardial blood supply shortage and chronic stable angina pectoris, the blood supply to the heart will not be affected only when resting. Acute myocardial infarction (AMI) may occur when atherosclerotic plaques rupture and bleed, forming thrombi that block blood vessels.

 

Therapies for CAHD

1.Drug Therapy:

1) Drugs that reduce symptoms and improve ischemia: Beta-blockers, nitrates, calcium channel blockers, and metabolic enhancer;

2) Drugs that prevent myocardial infarction and improve prognosis: anti-platelet drugs (aspirin, clopidogrel, ticagrelor), beta-blockers, statins, ACEI or ARB drugs.

2.    Interventional Therapy (PCI)

PCI has the advantages of simple operation, less trauma and rapid postoperative rehabilitation, and can rapidly achieve vascular reconstruction in emergency. The main benefit of PCI in patients with stable angina pectoris (CHD) is to relieve symptoms, and improve quality of life, according to the existing research results, the first choice for most patients with stable angina (CHD) should be medication, and for those who wish to maintain good exercise tolerance, PCI should be considered.  Patients with unstable angina could improve the long-term survival rate though PCI as well; patients with non-ST elevated acute myocardial infarction, based on risk stratification, should consider strategies of early conservative treatment or the early intervention. For patients with ST- elevated acute myocardial infarction, PCI could effectively reduce the overall mortality, but factors such as the onset time, location of infarction and cardiac function still need to be considered.

3.    Surgical Therapy:

Coronary artery bypass grafting (CABG) may be more beneficial for patients with diabetes mellitus, multivessel lesions, left ventricular dysfunction, multivessel lesions at the distal end of left main and proximal end of left anterior descending, and those who could not gain complete vascular reconstruction though PCI.

 

Types and selection of heart stents for PCI

1.     Bare Metal Stent (BMS) :

As a foreign matter planted in human body, bare metal stents will produce different stimulation effects after implantation. Due to the very nature of metal materials, problems such as metal corrosion, metal ion perpetuation in the body, activation of the blood coagulation system, regeneration of smooth muscle cells and deposition of cell substrate in the blood are inevitable. It may also trigger inflammatory responses in blood vessels, leading to blood vessel damage. According to statistics, the incidence of restenosis after BMS implantation is 20%~30%.

2.     Drug Eluting Stent (DES)

On the basis of bare metal stents, drug coating and drugs (such as Sirolimus, Paclitaxel, and antithrombotic drugs such as heparin), antibodies or genes that inhibit intimal hyperplasia are added to the drug eluting stents. After stents implantation, drugs, along with the polymer coating, will be released in the target vessels to prevent the occurrence of restenosis.

 

(1) The first-generation DES—Durable Polymer Drug-Eluting Stent (DP-DES):

Reduced the rate of vascular restenosis (to 5%~10%). DP-DES realized controlled drug release, ensured the effectiveness of the stent, and also inhibit proliferation of vascular smooth muscle cells, improved resistance of stent thrombosis, increased the corrosion resistance of stents to prevent the dissolution of metal ions, and avoided complex blood, immune response and tissue reaction of patients with bare metal stents implanted. After implantation, the polymer coating may cause continuous inflammation of vascular wall and significant delay in endothelial healing, which may lead to increased risk of late and very late stent thrombosis. Long duration of DAPT therapy; and the high cost are the major shortcomings of DP-DES

 

(2) The second generation DES—Biodegradable Polymer Drug-Eluting Stent (BP-DES):

The new polymer coating could be completely degraded to CO2 and H2O in about 6 months after the PCI procedure, avoiding the inflammatory reaction caused by the polymer, thus reducing thrombosis and achieve early endothelialization. DP-DES could further reduce the incidence of stent restenosis; the period of taking DAPT drugs could be shortened to 6 months, reducing complications of bleeding and the costs.

The guidelines for percutaneous coronary intervention treatment in China (2016) recommended the use of new generation DES in direct PCI for patients with non-ST elevated acute coronary syndrome (I, A), ST elevated acute myocardial infarction (I, A), and CAHD complicated with diabetes (I, A) and chronic renal disease (I, B). The new generation of DES is also recommended for the following coronary artery lesions: ostial lesions (IIa, B), SVG lesions (I, A), and stent restenosis (I, A). For left main bifurcation lesions and CTO, priority should be given to the application of the new generation of DES to reduce the incidence of restenosis.

 

 

(3) Bioresorbable Vascular Scaffold (BVS) :

BVS includes scaffolds of natural biological material, synthetic polymer material and composite material. Prospect of BVS’ application is still lack of data support, and needs to be further studied.

 

LEADERS—A study on the two generations of DES

At the 2008 European ESC conference, the Late Breaking Trial session presented the results of LEADERS, a large sampled clinical trial comparing a new biodegradable polymer drug eluting stent (BP-DES) with the first generation durable polymer drug eluting stent (DP-DES).

The full study was published in the LANCET in 2011. This is the world's first large scale multi-center, head-to-head, randomized non-inferior clinical trial of the new and old generations of drug-eluting stents (DES), with sufficient sample size to ensure the effectiveness of the study. This trial randomly enrolled 1707 patients, whom are randomly and equally allocated to two groups. These patients have complex complications and lesions, including chronic stable coronary arteriosclerosis heart disease, acute coronary syndrome, diabetes mellitus, multivessel lesions and long lesions (> 20 mm), which made the sample resemble the real world clinical situation, and the results of the study in greater value to practical application.

The 9-month results showed that both the composite clinical endpoint (cardiac death, MI, TVR) and the angiographic endpoint (stent restenosis) reached the standard of non-inferiority and showed advantages in safety as well.

Summary

Although the first generation of DES has superior anti-restenosis advantages compared to BMS, the slight increase in the incidence of late and very late stent thrombosis has become another critical problem in clinical application, and may even become an important safety problem that hinders the development of DES. The technology of biodegradable polymer drug eluting stent (BP-DES),which was rapidly applied to new products from a concept, has gained more and more powerful evidence in a series of clinical trials, showing promising prospect.

 

Reference

1.       Naruszewicz, M., [150 years of investigation of atherosclerosis--present status and perspectives]. Pol Arch Med Wewn, 1997. 97 Spec No: p. 37-45.

2.       O'Gara, P.T., et al., 2013 ACCF/AHA guideline for the management of ST-elevation myocardial infarction: executive summary: a report of the American College of Cardiology Foundation/American Heart Association Task Force on Practice Guidelines: developed in collaboration with the American College of Emergency Physicians and Society for Cardiovascular Angiography and Interventions. Catheter Cardiovasc Interv, 2013. 82(1): p. E1-27.

3.       Martin, S.S., et al., 2013 ACC/AHA cholesterol treatment guideline: what was done well and what could be done better. J Am Coll Cardiol, 2014. 63(24): p. 2674-8.

4.       Nishiyama, S., [Anti-anginal medication in management of acute coronary syndrome]. Nihon Rinsho, 2006. 64(4): p. 748-53.

5.       Grobben, R.B., et al., Cardiac markers following cardiac surgery and percutaneous coronary intervention. Clin Lab Med, 2014. 34(1): p. 99-111, vii.

6.       Bozikov, V., [Acute coronary syndrome in diabetes]. Acta Med Croatica, 2004. 58(2): p. 151-5.

7.       Zain, M.A. and W.J. Siddiqui, Angioplasty, in StatPearls. 2018, StatPearls PublishingStatPearls Publishing LLC.: Treasure Island (FL).

8.       Lee, J.Z., et al., Composite outcomes in 2.25-mm drug eluting stents: a systematic review. Cardiovasc Revasc Med, 2015. 16(4): p. 237-42.

9.       Gundogan, B., et al., Bioabsorbable stent quo vadis: a case for nano-theranostics. Theranostics, 2014. 4(5): p. 514-33.

10.     Stefanini, G.G., et al., Long-term clinical outcomes of biodegradable polymer biolimus-eluting stents versus durable polymer sirolimus-eluting stents in patients with coronary artery disease (LEADERS): 4 year follow-up of a randomised non-inferiority trial. The Lancet, 2011. 378(9807): p. 1940-1948.

患者關愛


冠心病PCI治療


心臟支架怎么選?答案在這里!


 


引言


冠狀動脈粥樣硬化性心臟病是由于冠狀動脈粥樣硬化使管腔狹窄、痙攣或阻塞導致心肌缺血、缺氧或壞死而引發的心臟病,歸屬于缺血性心臟病,是動脈粥樣硬化導致器官病變的最常見類型。


冠狀動脈供血給心臟,分為左、右兩支。冠狀動脈粥樣硬化可同時或分別累及各主要的冠狀動脈,病變的狹窄程度、病變部位決定了缺血癥狀和預后。管腔狹窄<50%時,心肌供血一般不受影響;管腔狹窄50%~70%時,靜息時心臟供血不受影響,而在運動、心動過速或激動時,心臟耗氧量增加,可引起心肌暫時性供血不足,引起慢性穩定性心絞痛;當粥樣斑塊破裂出血,形成血栓堵塞血管時可引發急性心肌梗死。

    
 

冠心病的治療


1. 藥物治療:


1)減輕癥狀、改善缺血的藥物:β受體阻滯劑、硝酸酯類藥物、鈣離子通道阻滯劑、改善代謝類藥物;


2)預防心肌梗死、改善預后的藥物:抗血小板藥物(阿司匹林、氯吡格雷、替格瑞洛)、β受體阻滯劑、他汀類降血脂藥物、ACEIARB類。


2. 介入治療(PCI)


PCI具有操作簡便、創傷較小和術后康復較快等優點,在緊急情況下還能迅速實現血管重建。穩定性心絞痛(冠心病)患者PCI的主要獲益在于緩解癥狀、改善生活質量,根據現有研究結果,對多數穩定性心絞痛(冠心病)的患者應先選擇藥物治療,而對于希望保持良好運動耐量的穩定性心絞痛(冠心病)患者可考慮PCI,不穩定性心絞痛的患者PCI可改善長期生存率;對于非ST段抬高的急性心肌梗死患者,應建立在危險分層的基礎上選擇早期保守治療策略或是早期介入策略;對于ST段抬高的急性心肌梗死患者,PCI能有效降低其總體死亡率,但仍需考慮發病時間、梗死部位、心功能等因素。

 

3. 外科治療:


對于合并糖尿病、多支血管病變、左心功能減退、左主干遠端以及伴有前降支近段病變的多支血管病變以及通過PCI不能達到的完全血管重建的患者,選擇冠狀動脈旁路移植術(CABG)的獲益可能更大。



PCI支架的類型與選擇 
 

  1. 金屬裸支架(BMS):


金屬裸支架作為人體的異物,置入之后會產生不同的刺激影響。由于金屬材料本身的性質,在血液中無法避免出現金屬腐蝕、金屬離子永存體內、血管內凝血系統激活、平滑肌細胞再生并且細胞基質沉積等問題;也可能引發血管的炎癥反應,機械積壓導致血管內膜損傷。經統計發現,金屬支架置入后血管再狹窄的發生率為20%~30%


  1. 藥物涂層支架(DES):


在金屬裸支架基礎上增加藥物涂層與能抑制血管內膜增生的藥物(如雷帕霉素、紫杉醇、抗血栓類如肝素等)、抗體或基因,支架植入后在其病變血管中釋放,從而防止血管再狹窄的發生。


1)第一代永久涂層藥物洗脫支架(DP-DES):減低了血管再狹窄率(至5%~10%)。它實現了對藥物的控釋能力,保證了支架的有效性,也可抑制血管平滑肌細胞增殖,提高支架的抗血栓性,又可以增加支架的耐腐蝕性,防止金屬離子的溶出,避免金屬裸支架與宿主發生復雜的血液反應、免疫反應和組織反應等。置入后聚合物殘留可能引起持續的血管壁炎癥反應和明顯內皮愈合延遲,進而導致晚期和極晚期支架內血栓風險增加;雙聯抗血小板藥物服用時間長 ;價格昂貴。


(2)第二代生物可降解涂層藥物洗脫支架{BP-DES):新涂層可在術后6個月左右完全降解為二氧化碳和水,避免聚合物殘留對血管壁造成的炎癥反應,從而減少血栓發生,較早內皮化;進一步降低支架內再狹窄的發生率;雙聯抗血小板藥物服用時間縮短至6個月,減少患者出血并發癥和花費;


《中國經皮冠狀動脈介入治療指南(2016)》推薦非 ST 段抬高型急性冠狀動脈綜合征(I, A)、急性ST段抬高型心肌梗死直接PCI (I, A)、冠心病合并糖尿病(I, A)及冠心病合并慢性腎臟疾病(I, B)患者置入新一代DES。對以下冠狀動脈病變推薦置入新一代 DES: 開口處病變(IIa, B)、靜脈橋血管病變(I,A)及支架內再狹窄病變 (I, A)。對左主干合并分叉病變和慢性閉塞病變, 優先考慮應用新一代 DES,以降低再狹窄率。

3.生物可吸收支架(BRS):


包括天然生物材料支架、人工合成高分子材料支架、復合材料支架。其應用前景尚缺乏數據支持,有待進一步研究。

  

關于新舊兩代DES的LEADERS研究PCI治療


2008年歐洲ESC大會上,Late Breaking Trial專場發布了一項新型生物可降解涂層洗脫支架與第一代永久不可降解涂層洗脫支架比較的大樣本臨床試驗LEADERS的結果。


該研究的全文于2011年發表在LANCET雜志上。這是全球首個有關新老兩代藥物洗脫支架(DES)的多中心、頭對頭、隨機比較的大樣本非劣性臨床試驗,充分的樣本量保證了研究的效力。該研究共隨機入選1707例患者,按照11比例隨機分組,這些患者的合并癥較多、病變比較復雜,包括慢性穩定性冠心病患者,急性冠狀動脈綜合征患者,合并糖尿病的患者,存在多支病變和長病變(>20mm)的患者,人群組成更接近真實的臨床情況,研究結果也更具有實際應用價值


9個月結果表明,無論在復合臨床終點(心源性死亡、心肌梗死、靶血管再次血運重建)還是造影終點(支架內直徑再狹窄)方面都達到了非劣性終點,并在安全性數據上顯示出了優勢趨勢。。



 



                                           小結


盡管第一代DES相對BMS來說具有優越的抗再狹窄優勢,但DES的遲發晚期血栓發生率的輕度增高成為其臨床應用中不可忽視的問題,甚至可能成為困擾DES發展的重要安全性問題。生物可降解涂層心臟支架(BP-DES)技術從一個新理念迅速應用于新產品,并在一系列試驗中獲得越來越有力的最新循證證據,顯示了其旺盛的生命力。


 


參考文獻:


1.       Naruszewicz, M., [150 years of investigation of atherosclerosis--present status and perspectives]. Pol Arch Med Wewn, 1997. 97 Spec No: p. 37-45.


2.       O'Gara, P.T., et al., 2013 ACCF/AHA guideline for the management of ST-elevation myocardial infarction: executive summary: a report of the American College of Cardiology Foundation/American Heart Association Task Force on Practice Guidelines: developed in collaboration with the American College of Emergency Physicians and Society for Cardiovascular Angiography and Interventions. Catheter Cardiovasc Interv, 2013. 82(1): p. E1-27.


3.       Martin, S.S., et al., 2013 ACC/AHA cholesterol treatment guideline: what was done well and what could be done better. J Am Coll Cardiol, 2014. 63(24): p. 2674-8.


4.       Nishiyama, S., [Anti-anginal medication in management of acute coronary syndrome]. Nihon Rinsho, 2006. 64(4): p. 748-53.


5.       Grobben, R.B., et al., Cardiac markers following cardiac surgery and percutaneous coronary intervention. Clin Lab Med, 2014. 34(1): p. 99-111, vii.


6.       Bozikov, V., [Acute coronary syndrome in diabetes]. Acta Med Croatica, 2004. 58(2): p. 151-5.


7.       Zain, M.A. and W.J. Siddiqui, Angioplasty, in StatPearls. 2018, StatPearls PublishingStatPearls Publishing LLC.: Treasure Island (FL).


8.       Lee, J.Z., et al., Composite outcomes in 2.25-mm drug eluting stents: a systematic review. Cardiovasc Revasc Med, 2015. 16(4): p. 237-42.


9.       Gundogan, B., et al., Bioabsorbable stent quo vadis: a case for nano-theranostics. Theranostics, 2014. 4(5): p. 514-33.


10.     Stefanini, G.G., et al., Long-term clinical outcomes of biodegradable polymer biolimus-eluting stents versus durable polymer sirolimus-eluting stents in patients with coronary artery disease (LEADERS): 4 year follow-up of a randomised non-inferiority trial. The Lancet, 2011. 378(9807): p. 1940-1948.


 


l>